International Speech Contest Winners

For many Toastmasters, the International Speech Contest is a highlight of our year. Here is a list of the winners of the District 71 International Speech Contest, the only one where winners progress to the world championship.

Year Contest winner Club World Championship
2019 Phillip Khan-Panni Society Toastmasters, Dublin Region 10 Quarter Final – 3rd place
2018 Deirdre Linehan Speak Easy Club, Mallow
2017 Vinette Hoffman-Jackson Luton Speakers
2016 Simon Scriver Dublin Toastmasters
2015 Jim Gregory Manchester Orators
2014 Chris Boden Maidenhead Speakers
2013 William Dempster HOD Speakers
2012 Yvonne Jordan Enniscorthy Toastmasters
2011 Malachi Talabi Croydon Communicators Inter-District – 3rd place
2010 Erick Rainey Manchester Orators
2009 Gareth McHale Northavon
2008 Sultan Nazir Rathfarnham
2007 Simon Bucknall London Cardinals Inter-District – 2nd place
2006 Simon Bucknall London Cardinals
2005 Erick Rainey Capital Communicators World Championship – 3rd place
2004 Erick Rainey Capital Communicators Inter-District – 2nd place
2003 Bob Harvey Bromley Speakers
2002 Bob Ferguson Hertfordshire Speakers
2001 Phillip Khan-Panni London Athenians  Inter-District – 3rd place
2000 Brendan Toale Glasnevin Inter-District – 1st place
1999 Paul Ellis Lucan
1998 Joseph Portley Crusaders
1997 Brian Cluer Thurles
1996 Brendan Toale Glasnevin
1995 Phillip Khan-Panni Grosvenor Square World Championship – 2nd place
1994 Brian Cluer Thurles
1993 Phillip Khan-Panni Bromley Inter-District – 1st place
1992 Adrienne Daly Naas
1991 David Lindsey Thame
1990 Giles Robinson Epsom
1989 Muiris O’Keefe Bray
1988 Patricia Foley Eblana
1987 Michael Fennessy Grosvenor Square
1986 Betty Gosnell Oxford
1985 Marie Pyne Ennis World Champion!
1984 Denis Vickers Thame
1983 Ray Fullam Dublin
1982 Stephen Johnson Mildenhall
1981 Harry Knox Waterford
1980 Dick Cullinane Waterford
1979 Russ McDevitt Dun Laoghaire
1978 Susan Cowles Oxford
1977 David Lindsey Aylesbury
1976 Bob Annenberg Aylesbury
1974 Sean Hickey Shannon
1973 George Brenner Shillelagh

Comments are closed.