

District Council

16 September 2023 at 10:00 Ireland/UK

DRAFT MEETING MINUTES

Minutes of the District 71 District Council meeting held on 16 September 2023 at 10am Ireland/UK, via Zoom. The presiding officer was Elizabeth Jordan, District Director. The secretary was Steve Campion, Administration Manager.

- 1. The meeting was called to order
- 2. District Director Elizabeth Jordan provided a welcome and opening address
- 3. Division Director Charles Mallone read the District Mission
- 4. Division Director Jennifer Elevique read the Core Values
- 5. District Parliamentarian Larry Lyons provided a briefing on parliamentary procedure and the standing rules of order to be used in the meeting
- 6. District Credentials Manager Pauline McCabe reported that there are 192 clubs in good standing in the District. Each club in good standing is allocated two votes and a quorum for the meeting is one-third of member clubs in good standing (128 votes). 170 votes have been registered by member club Presidents and Vice-Presidents Education. There are 62 active members of the District Executive Committee (DEC) and 50 votes have been registered by DEC members. The total number of votes that have been registered is 220. The quorum requirement for the meeting was met.
- 7. The agenda was adopted by unanimous consent
- 8. The minutes of the meeting of the District Council of 27 May 2023, as previously circulated, were approved by unanimous consent
- 9. The District Officer Appointments recommended by members of the District Executive Committee (listed below) were approved by unanimous consent
- 10. The District Success plan recommended by the District Executive Committee and previously circulated was approved by unanimous consent
- 11. Members of the District Leadership Team presented their proposed budgets and responded to questions
- 12. Finance Manager Anthony Phelan presented a financial report for the Toastmasters International year 2022-23 and responded to questions
- 13. District Director Elizabeth Jordan presented a summary of the budget recommended by the District Executive Committee and previously circulated. She advised that Toastmasters International World Headquarters had approved the draft submission of the detailed budget. The District Director responded to questions. The budget was approved by unanimous consent
- 14. District Parliamentarian Larry Lyons provided an additional briefing on parliamentary procedure and the standing rules of order to be used in the meeting
- 15. District Director Elizabeth Jordan introduced the recommendation from the District Executive Committee that speech contests at Area, Division and District level in the Toastmasters Year 2023-24 shall be in-person only
- 16. The recommendation of the District Executive Committee was discussed through informal consideration
- 17. Election Manager Nick Collins conducted a test of the electronic voting system
- 18. Program Quality Director Danny Banks, on behalf of the District Executive Committee, moved the adoption of the speech contest format as recommended by the District Executive Committee

- meeting on 9^{th} September 2023. An electronic vote was held with the result 80% (137) for and 20% (34) opposed. The motion was adopted
- 19. Past International President Ted Corcoran conducted an induction ceremony for Division Directors and Area Directors
- 20. Program Quality Director Danny Banks reported that the next District 71 conference will be held in Portlaoise, Ireland between 9th and 12th May 2023
- 21. The meeting was adjourned at 12pm

District Officer Appointments

The following District Officer Appointments were confirmed by the District Council of 16 September 2023 under Article VII: Officers of the District Administrative Bylaws.

District Leadership Team

Administration Manager: Steve Campion Finance Manager: Anthony Phelan

Division Director

Division C: Phil Sturgeon Division D: Angela Afieghe

Division E: John Cox Division J: Imma Ndey Division N: Paul Walsh Division S: Phillip Cooper

Area Director

A11: Paul Greenway

A23: Shirley Gallagher

A49: Nicholas O'Neill

B17: Phillip O'Brien

C10: Cian Doorley

C16: Michael McCann

C19: Kevin O'Reilly

D50: Matty Behan

E39: Vesko Petkov

F4: Anne Brady

G1: Venkatesh Gopalakrishnan

G25: Paige Skelton

G41: Kit Barritt

H14: Sam Ashby

H44: Georgina Hodgkinson

J2: Bhupen Sahu

J7: Jolanta Drygas

J57: Linda Crofton

M5: Tim Leech

M18: Pat Rooney

M26: Mary Conlon

N15: Randy Ekakitie

N21: Andra Popovici

N31: Mario Hundertajlo

N48: Natalie Kay

S30: Claire Downie

S33: Patricia Gray

S43: Claire Downie

S60: Fungai Mtisi